Escaping Life.

I haven’t been writing at all lately. I start feeling crappy and then I stop writing so that I can avoid facing those feelings. The thing that I forget is, writing makes me feel good. It gives me hope and draws my attention towards positive thoughts. I gather strength to grow and examine life from writing.

When I am writing, I am also reading. I read for inspiration. I read to discover new ways to explore and discover myself. I read to find lessons on personal growth. I read that which will ultimately help me to help myself.

When I am not writing, I read fiction. I lose myself in a story. I will read entire series of books in short periods of time and even start dreaming as the characters in my book. As I am nearing the end of the 4th book in the Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) books. I am realizing that I completely abandoned my journey for self discovery.

When I disappear into fiction, I stop meditating and practicing yoga. I have trouble drawing myself out of that world and into real life. It is the ultimate avoidance. I am running away from something I can’t even name. I am running from uncertainty, numbing my senses.

Last night, my mom sent me a link to a TED talk given by Brene Brown about The Power of Vulnerability. I have watched it 4 times, I feel asleep listening to it. I am feeling inspired to let myself back into my life.

Leave a Comment

